top of page
Search

I am a Fraud

There is always an idea of who is allowed and who is not allowed to take up a label. This being the jaded perception provided through stereotypes, prejudices, or just judgements based on your embodiment. The idea that someone can be a fraud within the labeled community is a different type of rejection, as you are rejected by people who are like you. Labels are constraining when it's hard to identify how you feel in relation to other peoples experiences, especially as you are not sure if you feel the same way, or if you are going to continue feeling that way. Labels are an added on identity that we as a society associate with people, when a label becomes such a defining piece of you, it limits the way in which you feel you can move within that label.

This becomes confusing for me, especially as I start to question my sexuality and gender. Specifically within my gender I like the idea of not associating with any gender but I know that the category of women is also an identity that I am comfortable being labeled as, at this same idea I don’t care how other people perceive me and would rather people see me, in despite of a gendered label of assumptions. This just scratches the surface of the debate that plays out in my head when I start to think about gender.

Within my sexuality, I’ve just come to the conclusion that I’m into everyone. Where this becomes confusing is the discourse surrounding bisexuality, as bisexual people in a heterosexual relationship are seen as spicy straight, and bisexual people in a queer relationship are seen as some semblence of queer. Where I fall into this category is that I don’t want a relationship with anyone, and have only “done things' ' with men, while having more emotional relationships with women. As a result of this discourse I feel pressured that I need to have sex with a women in order to prove to myself that I can take up this label and be valid within it.

I think labels are good as they help you find a collective community with similar experiences, as this is how we start to question how we identify ourselves in this world, but thereafter they start to feel limiting when you only identify with parts of the assumed experience.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Societal Views of Fat Women and Sexual Assault

The oppression of fat women stems from societal views and attitudes towards fat women, which influences individuals in society. Rhetoric that has fueled the demonization of fat women is echoed through

Politics of the Bathroom

Transgender and gender non-conforming people are forced to define their gender for the sake of conforming to society. If they decide to define their gender openly, and it is not within the gendered le

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page